Journal Literature & Information Sources for Education
The most efficient research strategy may be to use the following sources in the order they appear. Ed.S. and Ed.D. students doing deeper levels of research will definitely benefit from searching JSTOR, SAGE Premier and ERIC.
* Scroll down the page to see additional specialty resources for current issues, legal research, psychology, and K-12 classroom education, including age-appropriate children's materials.
- Education Journals and Ebooks in JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis link opens JSTOR with all Education journals and ebooks preselected for searching. The most recent 3 years are usually not included for journals still being published. Use Find It! or the Journal Locator to determine whether you have access to other recent issues.
- Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Education Journals gives users access to over 790 important scholarly and professional periodicals, including more than 615 of the titles in full text.
- Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowEducation Source offers an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks, and more to meet the research needs of education students from beginning to doctoral levels, professionals and policy makers. Education Source provides over 4 million citations/abstracts from 1929-present with full-text articles from over 1,700 scholarly journals and professional magazines. To assist the scholar, there are 1,179 journals with searchable cited references.
- SAGE Journals - Premier Collection 2022 This link opens in a new windowSAGE Premier provides the full-text of every article, 1999-present, from all 1,200+ peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE Publications and citations/abstracts for all articles from each journal's first issue. Disciplines include the full range of the social sciences, humanities, and education, with some coverage of applied and life sciences.
Journal Literature & Information Sources for Psychology
- APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowAPA Psycinfo is one of the most authoritative international index/abstract services for the worldwide scholarly literature of psychology and is based on APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. Citations and abstracts are available from 1887-present, with links to full-text articles in other services such as APA Psycarticles and APA Psycbooks. APA Psycinfo is the usual starting point for research in all aspects and sub-disciplines of the psychology literature.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests In Print (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, Mental Measurements Yearbook provides a comprehensive, scholarly guide to over 3,000 contemporary and historic educational and psychological testing instruments. Tests in Print serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known in-print, commercially available, English-language testing instruments. The service does not provide the texts of testing instruments.
Current Issues & Legal Research in All Subjects
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowCQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students. Coverage is from 1991 to the present.
