The most efficient research strategy may be to use the following sources in the order they appear. Ed.S. and Ed.D. students doing deeper levels of research will definitely benefit from searching SAGE Premier and ERIC.
* Scroll down the page to see additional specialty resources for current issues, legal research, psychology, and K-12 classroom education, including age-appropriate children's materials.
- Education Source
Covers all sectors of education--early childhood to higher education--as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing and assessment, curriculum and instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. Combines over 4 million citations/abstracts from 1929-present, with full-text articles from 1,700+ scholarly and professional journals, with the texts of over 550 monographs. Linking to full-text articles in other services is provided.
- SAGE Premier
Includes full-text articles from 1999-present from all 600+ journals published by SAGE Publications, one of the leading publishers of scholarly journals in the social sciences, including educational research. Also includes citations/abstracts for all articles from the beginning issue of each journal through 1998, all of which can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan. It is important to search SAGE separately because the Library does not subscribe to a citation/abstract service that indexes many of the SAGE journals.
- JSTOR
Is a full-text archive of over 2,300 major scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. All issues of each journal are available from the journal's beginning issue. In the case of journals still being published, the most recent 3-5 years are often not included. From the Education subject page, you can choose Education Journals in JSTOR and start with the education research journals preselected.
- ERIC
Is a service of the Educational Resource Information Center and valuable for the "gray literature" of the field, which is not published or disseminated commercially. Contents range in scope from informational materials to substantial, rigorously researched and reviewed research syntheses, conference papers, and policy reports. ERIC Documents, identified by their ED numbers, may be retrieved using the "Full Text from ERIC" link. All documents are available as full-text from 1993-present, as are about 70% of the documents from 1966-1992.
- ProQuest Education Journals
Gives users access to over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text. Covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
