Research
The Arrendale Library of Piedmont University offers a wide array of resources to support your research. In addition to the physical books that can be borrowed from the Arrendale Library, you also have access to several collections of ebooks, a large number of academic research databases, and a full-text online journal collection.
If you wish, you may also obtain a lending card from UGA Libraries by taking your Piedmont ID card to the Circulation Desk at the Main Library, located on Jackson St. If there are books outside of our system, and that of UGA, that you feel are pertinent to your research, we would be happy to try and obtain them from another library through InterLibrary Loan.
If, after exploring the Library's homepage, you feel that you could use a guided tour of the library's offerings, either in person or over the telephone, the library's staff would be pleased to set up an individual instruction session with you. You can find a list of the library's staff here: https://library.piedmont.edu/libinfo/contact.
Please contact us with any and all questions you may have about the resources the library has to offer. If you have a brief question, you may also write to us at Ask a Librarian! through the following form: https://piedmont.libanswers.com/.
Gathering Resources
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals in virtually all academic disciplines. This service is a leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text articles for STEM research in addition many of the most important journals in the Social Sciences and Humanities.
- Academic Video Online: AVON This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online: AVON is a multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. With over 78,000 titles available, this collection is unmatched in its breadth. Disciplines and subjects include: anthropology, counseling & therapy, fashion, business & economics, diversity studies, education, documentary film, feature film, history, music & dance, news & current events, theatre.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowContains the full-text eBooks of all 400+ volumes currently published by Cambridge University Press in their many distinguished and authoritative Histories series. Volumes can be searched and read individually, or you can search across several volumes or subject areas simultaneously.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowCQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students. Coverage is from 1991 to the present.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference presents content from hundreds of reference books from some of the world's best reference publishers. Credo contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, subject encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy to zoology, science to Shakespeare, and law to literature. There are over 3 million entries, 65,000+ images (art, diagrams, interactive maps and photos).
- Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowExtensive collection of full-text articles and citations from over 6,000 journals and magazines, 75% of which have full-text articles included. ProQuest Research Library is designed to cover the top 150 core academic subject reference areas extensively.
