Social Sciences Research: Philosophy and Methodology
Social Sciences Research: Philosophy and Methodology
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods by
This Encyclopedia provides readers with authoritative essays on virtually all social science methods topics, quantitative and qualitative, by an international collection of experts. Organized alphabetically, the Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods covers research terms ranging from different methodological approaches to epistemological issues and specific statistical techniques.
Written to be accessible to general readers, the Encyclopedia entries do not require advanced knowledge of mathematics or statistics to understand the purposes or basic principles of any of the methods. To accomplish this goal, there are two major types of entries: definitions consisting of a paragraph or two to provide a quick explanation of a methodological term; and topical treatments or essays that discuss the nature, history, applications, and implications of using a certain method, including suggested readings and references. Readers are directed to related topics via cross-referenced terms that appear in small capital letters. By assembling entries of varied origins and serving different research purposes, readers will be able to benefit from this immense source of methodological expertise in advancing their understanding of research.
ISBN: 9780761923633
Encyclopedia of Philosophy and the Social Sciences by
This encyclopedia, magnificently edited by Byron Kaldis, will become a valuable source both of reference and inspiration for all those who are interested in the interrelation between philosophy and the many facets of the social sciences. A must read for every student of the humanities.--Wulf Gaertner, University of Osnabrueck, Germany "Byron Kaldis′ Encyclopedia of Philosophy and the Social Sciences is a triumph. The entries are consistently good, the coverage is amazing, and he has managed to involve the whole scholarly community in this field. It shows off the field very well, and will be a magnificent resource for students and others." -- Stephen Turner, USF, USA " Like all good works of reference this Encyclopedia of Philosophy and the Social Sciences is not to be treated passively: it provides clear and sometimes controversial material for constructive confrontation. It is a rich resource for critical engagement. The Encyclopedia conceived and edited by Byron Kaldis is a work of impressive scope and I am delighted to have it on my bookshelf."-- David Bloor, Edinburgh, UK "This splendid and possibly unique work steers a skilful course between narrower conceptions of philosophy and the social sciences. It will be an invaluable resource for students and researchers in either or both fields, and to anyone working on the interrelations between them." -- William Outhwaite, Newcastle, UK "A work of vast scope and widely gathered expertise, the Encyclopedia of Philosophy and the Social Sciences is a splendid resource for anyone interested in the interface between philosophy and the social sciences." --Nicholas Rescher, Pittsburgh This encyclopedia is the first of its kind in bringing together philosophy and the social sciences. It is not only about the philosophy of the social sciences but, going beyond that, it is also about the relationship between philosophy and the social sciences. The subject of this encyclopedia is purposefully multi- and inter-disciplinary. Knowledge boundaries are both delineated and crossed over. The goal is to convey a clear sense of how philosophy looks at the social sciences and to mark out a detailed picture of how the two are interrelated: interwoven at certain times but also differentiated and contrasted at others. The Entries cover topics of central significance but also those that are both controversial and on the cutting-edge, underlining the unique mark of this Encyclopedia: the interrelationship between philosophy and the social sciences, especially as it is found in fresh ideas and unprecedented hybrid disciplinary areas. The Encyclopedia serves a further dual purpose: it contributes to the renewal of the philosophy of the social sciences and helps to promote novel modes of thinking about some of its classic problems. "The Encyclopedia of Philosophy and the Social Sciences edited by Byron Kaldis, provides a unique, needed, and invaluable resource for researchers at every level. Unique because nothing else offers the breadth of coverage found in this work; needed because it permits researchers to find longer but also relatively brief, clear, but nonetheless expert articles introducing important topics; and invaluable because of the guidance offered to both related topics and further study. It should be the place that any interested person looks first when seeking to learn about philosophy and the social sciences." Paul Roth, UC Santa Cruz, USA "The Encyclopedia of Philosophy and the Social Sciences edited by Byron Kaldis covers an enormous range of topics in philosophy and the social sciences and the entries are compact overviews of the essential issues" Harold Kincaid, University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA
ISBN: 9781412986892
Encyclopedia of Research Design by
Research design can be daunting for all types of researchers. At its heart it might be described as a formalized approach toward problem solving, thinking, and acquiring knowledge--the success of which depends upon clearly defined objectives and appropriate choice of statistical tools, tests, and analysis to meet a project's objectives.Comprising more than 500 entries, the Encyclopedia of Research Design elucidates how to make decisions about research design, undertake research projects in an ethical manner, interpret and draw valid inferences from data, and evaluate experiment design strategies and results. Two additional features carry this encyclopedia far above other works in the field: bibliographic entries devoted to significant articles in the history of research design and reviews of contemporary tools, such as software and statistical procedures, used to analyze results.The Encyclopedia of Research Design is the perfect instrument for new learners as well as experienced researchers to explore both the original and newest branches of the field.
ISBN: 9781412961271
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods by
Qualitative research is designed to explore the human elements of a given topic, while specific qualitative methods examine how individuals see and experience the world. Qualitative approaches are typically used to explore new phenomena and to capture individuals' thoughts, feelings, or interpretations of meaning and process. Such methods are central to research conducted in education, nursing, sociology, anthropology, information studies, and other disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and health sciences. Qualitative research projects are informed by a wide range of methodologies and theoretical frameworks. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods presents current and complete information as well as ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research in a very accessible style. In taking an interdisciplinary approach, these two volumes target a broad audience and fill a gap in the existing reference literature for a general guide to the core concepts that inform qualitative research practices. The entries cover every major facet of qualitative methods, including access to research participants, data coding, research ethics, the role of theory in qualitative research, and much more-all without overwhelming the informed reader. Key Features Defines and explains core concepts, describes the techniques involved in the implementation of qualitative methods, and presents an overview of qualitative approaches to research Offers many entries that point to substantive debates among qualitative researchers regarding how concepts are labeled and the implications of such labels for how qualitative research is valued Guides readers through the complex landscape of the language of qualitative inquiry Includes contributors from various countries and disciplines that reflect a diverse spectrum of research approaches from more traditional
ISBN: 9781412941631
Encyclopedia of Case Study Research by
Case study research has a long history within the natural sciences, social sciences, and humanities, dating back to the early 1920's. At first it was a useful way for researchers to make valid inferences from events outside the laboratory in ways consistent with the rigorous practices of investigation inside the lab. Over time, case study approaches garnered interest in multiple disciplines as scholars studied phenomena in context. Despite widespread use, case study research has received little attention among the literature on research strategies.The Encyclopedia of Case Study Research provides a compendium on the important methodological issues in conducting case study research and explores both the strengths and weaknesses of different paradigmatic approaches. These two volumes focus on the distinctive characteristics of case study research and its place within and alongside other research methodologies.Key FeaturesPresents a definition of case study research that can be used in different fields of studyDescribes case study as a research strategy rather than as a single tool for decision making and inquiryGuides rather than dictates, readers' understanding and applications of case study researchIncludes a critical summary in each entry, which raises additional matters for reflectionMakes case study relevant to researchers at various stages of their careers, across philosophic divides, and throughout diverse disciplinesKey ThemesAcademic DisciplinesCase Study Research DesignConceptual IssuesData AnalysisData CollectionMethodological ApproachesTheoretical TraditionsTheory Development and ContributionsFrom Case Study ResearchTypes of Case Study Research
ISBN: 9781412956703
The SAGE Handbook of Interview Research by
The second edition of this landmark volume emphasizes the dynamic, interactional, and reflexive dimensions of the research interview. Contributors highlight the myriad dimensions of complexity that are emerging as researchers increasingly frame the interview as a communicative opportunity as much as a data-gathering format. The book begins with an overview of the history and conceptual transformations of the interview, which is followed by chapters that discuss the main components of interview practice. Taken together, the contributions to the handbook encourage readers to simultaneously learn the frameworks and technologies of interviewing and reflect on the epistemological foundations of the interview craft.The handbook has been updated to address recent developments, especially in qualitative interviewing. Twenty-six chapters are completely new; the remaining twelve chapters have been substantially revised to give readers access to the state of the art of interview research. Three entirely new sections include "Logistics of Interviewing," "Self and Other in the Interview," and "Ethics of the Interview."
ISBN: 9781412981644
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics by
The Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics presents state-of-the-art information and ready-to-use facts from the fields of measurement and statistics in an unintimidating style. The ideas and tools contained in these pages are approachable and can be invaluable for understanding our very technical world and the increasing flow of information. Although there are references that cover statistics and assessment in depth, none provides as comprehensive a resource in as focused and accessible a manner as the three volumes of this Encyclopedia. Through approximately 500 contributions, experts provide an overview and an explanation of the major topics in these two areas.
ISBN: 9781412916110
The SAGE Handbook of Multilevel Modeling by
In this important new Handbook, the editors have gathered together a range of leading contributors to introduce the theory and practice of multilevel modeling. The Handbook establishes the connections in multilevel modeling, bringing together leading experts from around the world to provide a roadmap for applied researchers linking theory and practice, as well as a unique arsenal of state-of-the-art tools. It forges vital connections that cross traditional disciplinary divides and introduces best practice in the field. Part I establishes the framework for estimation and inference, including chapters dedicated to notation, model selection, fixed and random effects, and causal inference. Part II develops variations and extensions, such as nonlinear, semiparametric and latent class models. Part III includes discussion of missing data and robust methods, assessment of fit and software. Part IV consists of exemplary modeling and data analyses written by methodologists working in specific disciplines. Combining practical pieces with overviews of the field, this Handbook is essential reading for any student or researcher looking to apply multilevel techniques in their own research.
ISBN: 9780857025647
Research in Education
Research in Education
21st Century Education: a Reference Handbook by
21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook offers 100 chapters written by leading experts in the field that highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates facing educators today. This comprehensive and authoritative two-volume work provides undergraduate education majors with insight into the rich array of issues inherent in education-issues informing debates that involve all Americans.Key Features:· Provides undergraduate majors with an authoritative reference source ideal for their classroom research needs, preparation for GREs, and research into directions to take in pursuing a graduate degree or career· Offers more detailed information than encyclopedia entries, but not as much jargon, detail, or density as journal articles or research handbook chapters· Explores educational policy and reform, teacher education and certification, educational administration, curriculum, and instruction· Offers a reader-friendly common format: Theory, Methods, Applications, Comparison, Future Directions, Summary, References and Further Readings 21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook is designed to prepare teachers, professors, and administrators for their future careers, informing the debates and preparing them to address the questions and meet the challenges of education today.
ISBN: 9781412950114
The SAGE Handbook of Philosophy of Education by
This book provides an authoritative, yet accessible guide to the philosophy of education, its scope, its key thinkers and movements, and its potential contribution to a range of educational concerns. The text offers a balanced view of three key dimensions: first, in giving an equal weight to different styles and modes of philosophy; second, by including past and present perspectives on philosophy of education; and third, in covering both the general "perennial" issues in philosophy and issues of more contemporary concern.Section one of the book exemplifies different styles of philosophy, paying attention to the contemporary debates as to the nature, possibilities, and limitations of these different approaches to philosophy of education. Section two is devoted to particular thinkers of the past, and more general coverage of the history of philosophy of education. Section three is dedicated to contemporary philosophic thought on education, providing the basis and reference point for an exploration of contemporary issues. The handbook is designed primarily to be useful to students studying the field of philosophy of education, in the context of the study of educational foundations or theory. But it is also designed to be of use to practicing teachers who wish to gain easy access to current philosophical thinking on particular contemporary educational issues, and to educationalists of all types who want a succinct guide to questions relating to the nature, the history, and the current state of the art of philosophy of education.
ISBN: 9781847874672
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education by
More than any other field in education, the social and cultural foundations of education reflect many of the conflicts, tensions, and forces in American society. This is hardly surprising, since the area focuses on issues such as race, gender, socioeconomic class, the impact of technology on learning, what it means to be educated, and the role of teaching and learning in a societal context. The Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education provides a comprehensive introduction to the social and cultural foundations of education. With more than 400 entries, the three volumes of this indispensable resource offer a thorough and interdisciplinary view of the field for all those interested in issues involving schools and society. Key Features · Provides an interdisciplinary perspective from areas such as comparative education, educational anthropology, educational sociology, the history of education, and the philosophy of education · Presents essays on major movements in the field, including the Free School and Visual Instruction movements · Includes more than 130 biographical entries on important men and women in education · Offers interpretations of legal material including Brown v. Board of Education(1954) and the GI Bill of Rights · Explores theoretical debates fundamental to the field such as religion in the public school curriculum, rights of students and teachers, surveillance in schools, tracking and detracking, and many more · Contains a visual history of American education with nearly 350 images and an accompanying narrative Key Themes · Arts, Media, and Technology · Curriculum · Economic Issues · Equality and Social Stratification · Evaluation, Testing, and Research Methods · History of Education · Law and Public Policy · Literacy · Multiculturalism and Special Populations · Organizations, Schools, and Institutions · Religion and Social Values · School Governance · Sexuality and Gender · Teachers · Theories, Models, and Philosophical Perspectives · A Visual History of American Education
ISBN: 9781412906784
The SAGE Handbook for Research in Education by
Research is increasingly becoming more influential in the field of education and this Handbook brings together a range of top academic experts who represent diverse fields within and outside of education, as well as quantitative, qualitative, and mixed method approaches to provide an upto- date, advanced analysis of all relevant issues involved in educational research. The Handbook is written in lively, welcoming prose and central to the handbook is an intention to encourage and help researchers place ideas at the epicenter of inquiry. In addition explicit discussion of the fundamental challenges that researchers must consciously address throughout their inquiry are identified and solutions provided to help future researchers overcome similar obstacles.
ISBN: 9781412906401
The SAGE Handbook of Educational Action Research by
This handbook presents and critiques predominant and emergent traditions of Educational Action Research internationally. Now a prominent methodology, Educational Action Research is well suited to exploring, developing and sustaining change processes both in classrooms and whole organisations such as schools, Departments of Education, and many segments of universities. The handbook contains theoretical and practical based chapters by highly respected scholars whose work has been seminal in building knowledge and expertise in the field. It also contains chapters exemplifying the work of prominent practitioner and community groups working outside universities. The Editors provide an introduction and conclusion, as well as an opening chapter which charts the historical development of action research and provides an analysis of its underlying theories. The handbook is organized into four sections, each beginning with a short introduction: " Action research methodology: diversity of rationales and practices " Professional: Knowledge production, staff development, and the status of educators " Personal: Self-awareness, development and identity " Political: Popular knowledge, difference, and frameworks for change This is a key resource for scholars and graduate students at doctors and masters levels, as well as school leaders and administrators. Susan Noffke is Associate Professor of Curriculum & Instruction at the University of Illinois - Urbana/Champaign and co-editor with R.B. Stevenson of Educational Action Research (Teachers College Press, 1995). She taught at the primary school level for a decade, and has led masters and doctoral level courses in action research for the past 20 years. She continues to work with many collaborative projects with schools and school districts. Bridget Somekh is Professor of Educational Research at Manc
ISBN: 9781412947084
The SAGE Handbook of e-Learning Research by
The new edition of The SAGE Handbook of E-Learning Research retains the original effort of the first edition by focusing on research while capturing the leading edge of e-learning development and practice. Chapters focus on areas of development in e-learning technology, theory, practice, pedagogy and method of analysis. Covering the full extent of e-learning can be a challenge as developments and new features appear daily. The editors of this book meet this challenge by including contributions from leading researchers in areas that have gained a sufficient critical mass to provide reliable results and practices. The 25 chapters are organised into six key areas: 1. THEORY 2. LITERACY & LEARNING 3. METHODS & PERSPECTIVES 4. PEDAGOGY & PRACTICE 5. BEYOND THE CLASSROOM 6. FUTURES
ISBN: 9781473902329
The SAGE Handbook of Research in International Education by
The landscape of international education has changed significantly in the last ten years and our understanding of concepts such as 'international', ′global′ and 'multicultural' are being re-evaluated. Fully updated and revised, and now including new contributions from research in South East Asia, the Middle East, China, Japan, Australasia, and North America, the new edition of this handbook analyses the origins, interpretations and contributions of international education and explores key contemporary developments, including: internationalism in the context of teaching and learning leadership, standards and quality in institutions and systems of education the promotion of internationalism in national systems This important collection of research is an essential resource for anyone involved in the practice and academic study of international education, including researchers and teachers in universities, governmental and private curriculum development agencies, examination authorities, administrators and teachers in schools.
ISBN: 9781446298442
Handbook of Multicultural Measures by
"One of the most challenging tasks for multicultural researchers is finding psychometrically robust and practical measures. For years I have been waiting for one comprehensive source of empirically supported measures to help guide my work. Finally it has arrived! This Handbook of Multicultural Measures is the most complete and up-to-date compendium of promising instruments for research in all areas of cultural psychology. Graduate students and seasoned researchers who often spend weeks trying to locate appropriate measures for their research, will now identify the best measure for their study in one day, thanks to this complete and highly readable text." -Joseph G. Ponterotto, Fordham UniversityProviding readers with cutting-edge details on multicultural instrumentation, theories, and research in the social, behavioral, and health-related fields, this Handbook offers extensive coverage of empirically-supported multicultural measurement instruments that span a wide variety of subject areas such as ethnic and racial identity, racism, disability, and gender roles. Readers learn how to differentiate among and identify appropriate research tools for a particular project. This Handbook provides clinical practitioners with a useful starting point in their search for multicultural assessment devices they can use with diverse clients to inform clinical treatment.
ISBN: 9781412978835
The SAGE Handbook of African American Education by
"This volume fills the tremendous void that currently exists in providing a much-needed lens for cultural leadership and proficiency. The approach provides a wide divergence of perspectives on African American forms of leadership in a variety of diverse leadership settings." -Len Foster, Washington State University The SAGE Handbook of African American Education is a unique, comprehensive collection of theoretical and empirical scholarship in six important areas: historical perspectives, teaching and learning, PK-12 school leadership, higher education, current issues, and education policy. The purpose of the Handbook is to articulate perspectives on issues affecting the participation and leadership of African Americans in PK-12 and postsecondary education. This volume also addresses historical and current issues affecting the education of African Americans and discusses current and future school reform efforts that directly affect this group. Key Features Promotes inquiry and development of questions, ideas, and dialogue about critical practice, theory, and research on African Americans in the United States educational system Makes significant contributions to the scholarship on African Americans in the broad context of U.S. education and society Addresses the central question-in what ways do African Americans in corporate, private, and public positions influence and shape educational policy that affects African Americans? "The SAGE Handbook of African American Education is a unique, comprehensive collection of theoretical and empirical scholarship in six important a
ISBN: 9781412937436
SAGE Handbook of Research on Classroom Assessment by
The Sage Handbook of Research on Classroom Assessment provides scholars, professors, graduate students, and other researchers and policy makers in the organizations, agencies, testing companies, and school districts with a comprehensive source of research on all aspects of K-12 classroom assessment. The handbook emphasizes theory, conceptual frameworks, and all varieties of research (quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods) to provide an in-depth understanding of the knowledge base in each area of classroom assessment and how to conduct inquiry in the area. It presents classroom assessment research to convey, in depth, the state of knowledge and understanding that is represented by the research, with particular emphasis on how classroom assessment practices affect student achievement and teacher behavior. Editor James H. McMillan and five Associate Editors bring the best thinking and analysis from leading classroom assessment researchers on the nature of the research, making significant contributions to this prominent and hotly debated topic in education.
ISBN: 9781412995870
Research in Educational Psychology & Learning
Research in Educational Psychology & Learning
Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology by
The field of educational psychology draws from a variety of diverse disciplines including human development across the life span, measurement and statistics, learning and motivation, and teaching. And within these different disciplines, many other fields are featured including psychology, anthropology, education, sociology, public health, school psychology, counseling, history, and philosophy. In fact, when taught at the college or university level, educational psychology is an ambitious course that undertakes the presentation of many different topics all tied together by the theme of how the individual can best function in an "educational" setting, loosely defined as anything from pre-school through adult education. Educational psychology can be defined as the application of what we know about learning and motivation, development, and measurement and statistics to educational settings (both school- and community-based).
ISBN: 9781412916882
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology by
The Encyclopedia of Social Psychology is designed as a road map to this rapidly growing and important field and provides individuals with a simple, clear, jargon-free introduction. These two volumes include more than 600 entries chosen by a diverse team of experts to comprise an exhaustive list of the most important concepts. Entries provide brief, clear, and readable explanations to the vast number of ideas and concepts that make up the intellectual and scientific content in the area of social psychology.
ISBN: 9781412916707
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology by
The Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology is the first authoritative guide to synthesize the dynamic field of multicultural psychology. This volume includes entries on a broad array of issues and covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. The Encyclopedia addresses culture across a broad spectrum of psychological perspectives and includes topics that are relevant to social psychology, cognitive psychology, environmental psychology, cross-cultural psychology, and clinical psychology.
ISBN: 9781412909488
The SAGE Handbook of Gender and Education by
The SAGE Handbook of Gender and Education brings together leading scholars on gender and education to provide an up-to-date and broad-ranging guide to the field. It is a comprehensive overview of different theoretical positions on equity issues in schools. The contributions cover all sectors of education from early years to higher education; curriculum subjects; methodological and theoretical perspectives; and gender identities in education. Each chapter reviews, synthesises, and provides a critical interrogation of key contemporary themes in education. This approach ensures that the book will be an indispensable source of reference for a wide range of readers: students, academics and practitioners.
ISBN: 9781412907927
The SAGE Handbook of Gender and Psychology by
The SAGE Handbook of Gender and Psychology is a unique, state-of-the-art synthesis of the known work, combined with current research trends, in the broad field of gender and psychology. In the past 35 years academic publications on the subject have increased tenfold, and this level of activity as well the diversity of research looks set to increase in the coming years too. The time is ideal for a systematic review of the field. Contributions come from academics around the world and many different disciplines, and as a result multiple perspectives and a diversity of methodologies are presented to understand gender and its implications for behaviour. Chapters cover a wide variety of topics, theoretical approaches, contexts, and social issues; they also critically examine the key issues and current debates. Both advanced students and scholars will find extensive range and depth in the topics covered across the Handbook′s 29 chapters. Published as a single volume, the handbook is aimed at individuals as well as the library market. The SAGE Handbook of Gender and Psychology will have mass appeal across the field of psychology, including social psychology and gender and psychology, as well a number of other subject groups such as gender studies, sociology, organizational behaviour and political science.
ISBN: 9781446203071
Encyclopedia of School Psychology by
The Encyclopedia of School Psychology is the first comprehensive guide to this field, featuring the latest research on school learning, motivation, and educational assessment. Approximately 250 entries by 175 contributing authors from psychology, education and counseling, child development, and special education address student success, behavior disorders, intelligence testing, learning disabilities, strategies to improve academic skills, and more.Key Features Entries avoid jargon and technical detail in order to be accessible to a broad audience including university professors of school psychology, college students, elementary and high school teachers and administrators, school psychologists, and parents Some entries will include embedded timelines to highlight the history and development of the field, which will be further highlighted by biographies of key pioneering researchers Entries on controversial topics (e.g., I/Q and intelligence testing) will include "Point/Counterpoint" boxes highlighting differing sides to issues that aren't necessarily clear cut Appendices will guide readers to additional resources and will also include comparative statistical tables presenting information about student achievement, learning disorders, intelligence scales, and commonly administered standardized tests
ISBN: 9780761930808
SAGE Handbook of Mentoring and Coaching in Education by
This Handbook is a leading source of ideas and information on mentoring and coaching. It covers national and international research on schools, higher education, and disciplines within and beyond education. The editors draw together contributions and present evidence bases and alternative worldviews in which concepts are both untangled and substantiated. Unique in its coverage, it maps current knowledge and understanding, and values and skills underpinning educational mentoring and coaching for learning. Contributors set out practical applications of coaching and mentoring for practitioners and researchers and also address social justice issues, such as those involving traditional and technical forms of mentoring and coaching, democratic and accountability agendas, and institutional and historical patterns of learning.
ISBN: 9780857027535
Research in Curriculum & Leadership
The SAGE Handbook of Educational Leadership by
This fully updated Second Edition offers an unflinching and comprehensive overview of the full range of both practical and theoretical issues facing educational leadership today. Editor Fenwick W. English and 30 renowned authors boldly address the most fundamental and contested issues in the field, including culturally relevant and distributed leadership; critical policy and practice issues predicting the new century's conflict; the paradox of changes; and the promises, paradoxes, and pitfalls of standards for educational leaders.
ISBN: 9781412980029
Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration by
To read some sample entries, or to view the Readers Guide click on "Sample Chapters/Additional Materials" in the left column under "About This Book" The Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration presents the most recent theories, research, terms, concepts, ideas, and histories on educational leadership and school administration as taught in preparation programs and practiced in schools and colleges today. With more than 600 entries, written by more than 200 professors, graduate students, practitioners, and association officials, the two volumes of this encyclopedia represent the most comprehensive knowledge base of educational leadership and school administration that has, as yet, been compiled.Key Features Represents a "knowledge dynamic" of the field by presenting ideas and perspectives that are in the minds, hearts, and aspirations of those practicing in the profession Includes a wide range of topics covering teaching and learning, curriculum, psychology and motivation, budgeting and finance, law, statistics, research, personnel management, planning, supervision, and much more Contains more than 75 biographical sketches of people whose ideas, aspirations, and lives have contributed much to the profession Animates the reader's thinking and defines possibilities by presenting terms, ideas, concepts, research, and theories that are circulating in the field The Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration is a must-have reference for all academic libraries as well as a welcome addition to any leadership in education collection.
ISBN: 9780761930877
Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies by
The study of curriculum, beginning in the early 20th century, first served the areas of school administration and teaching and was used to design and develop programs of study. The field subsequently expanded and drew upon disciplines from the arts, humanities, and social sciences to examine larger educational forces and their effects upon the individual, society, and conceptions of knowledge. Curriculum studies now embraces an array of academic scholarship in relation to personal and institutional needs and interests while it also focuses upon a diverse and complex dynamic among educational experiences, practices, settings, actions, and theories. The Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies provides a comprehensive introduction to the academic field of curriculum studies for the scholar, student, teacher, and administrator. This two-volume set serves to inform and to introduce terms, events, documents, biographies, and concepts to assist the reader in understanding aspects of this rapidly changing, expansive, and contested field of study. Key Features Displays different perspectives by having authors contribute independent essays on the nature and future of curriculum studies Presents a unique and in-depth treatment of the Twenty-Sixth Yearbook of the National Society for the Study of Education (NSSE), a 1927 publication that has taken on legendary dimensions for the field of curriculum studies Contains bibliographic entries which feature specific publications by curriculum leaders that helped to define the field Helps readers to learn unfamiliar terms and concepts, to become more comfortable with specialized phrases, and to understand the many significant and per
ISBN: 9781412958837
The SAGE Handbook of Curriculum and Instruction by
The SAGE Handbook of Curriculum and Instruction emerges from a concept of curriculum and instruction as a diverse landscape defined and bounded by schools, school boards and their communities, policy, teacher education, and academic research.Each contributing author was asked to comprehensively review the research literature in their assigned topic. These topics, however, are defined by practical places on the landscape e.g. schools and governmental policies for schools.Key Features:o Presents a different vision or re-conceptualization of the fieldo Provides a comprehensive and inclusive set of authors, ideas, and topicso Takes a global rather than North American parochial approacho Recognizes that curriculum and instruction is broader in scope than is suggested by university research and theoryo Reflects post-1992 changes in curriculum policy, practice and scholarshipo Represents a rethinking of how school subject matter areas are treated.Teacher education is included in the Handbook with the intent of addressing the role and place of teacher education in bridging state and national curriculum policies and curriculum as enacted in classrooms.
ISBN: 9781412909907
Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education by
"With articles on Spanglish and Spanish loan words in English as well as Southeast Asian refugees and World Englishes, this encyclopedia has a broad scope that will make it useful in academic and large public libraries serving those involved in teaching and learning in multiple languages. Also available as an ebook." - Booklist The simplest definition of bilingual education is the use of two languages in the teaching of curriculum content in K-12 schools. There is an important difference to keep in mind between bilingual education and the study of foreign languages as school subjects: In bilingual education, two languages are used for instruction, and the goal is academic success in and through the two languages. The traditional model of foreign-language study places the emphasis on the acquisition of the languages themselves. The field of bilingual education is dynamic and even controversial. The two volumes of this comprehensive, first-stop reference work collect and synthesize the knowledge base that has been well researched and accepted in the United States and abroad while also taking note of how this topic affects schools, research centers, legislative bodies, advocacy organizations, and families. The Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education is embedded in several disciplines, including applied linguistics, politics, civil rights, historical events, and of course, classroom instruction. This work is a compendium of information on bilingual education and related topics in the United States with select international contributors providing global insight onto the field. Key Features Explores in a comprehensive, non-technical way the intricacies of this subject from multiple perspectives: its history, policy, classroom practice, instructional design, and research bases Shows connections between bilingual education and related subjects, such as linguistics, education equit
ISBN: 9781412937207
Encyclopedia of Education Law by
A welcome addition to any public or academic library, this set would also be of use in a law library where educational law might need to be explored and reviewed at a more basic level than other legal texts."-Sara Rofofsky Marcus, Queensborough Community Coll., Bayside, NY"Smaller educational legal summaries exist, and a couple of texts deal with Supreme Court cases about education, but this set provides a unique combination of general educational legal issues and case-specific information. It should be a welcome addition to academic and large public libraries. Also available as an ebook."- BooklistThe Encyclopedia of Education Law is a compendium of information drawn from the various dimensions of education law that tells its story from a variety of perspectives. The entries cover a number of essential topics, including the following:Key cases in education law, including both case summaries and topical overviewsConstitutional issuesKey concepts, theories, and legal principlesKey statutesTreaties (e.g., the Universal Declaration on Human Rights)Curricular issuesEducational equityGovernanceRights of students and teachersTechnologyBiographiesOrganizationsIn addition to these broad categories, anchor essays by leading experts in education law provide more detailed examination of selected topics. The Encyclopedia also includes selections from key legal documents such as the Constitution and federal statutes that serve as the primary sources for research on education law. At the same time, since education law is a component in a much larger legal system, the Encyclopedia includes entries on the historical development of the law that impact on its subject matter. Such a broadened perspective places education law in its proper context in the U.S. legal system.
ISBN: 9781412940795
