ProQuest Dissertation Publishing has been publishing dissertations and theses since 1938. In that time, they have published over 2 million graduate works from graduate schools around the world. In addition to publishing them, they provide access to graduate works held at thousands of libraries around the world through the service now known as ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) and formerly known as Dissertation Abstracts or as UMI.
The relationship between you and ProQuest Dissertation Publishing is that of author and publisher. Piedmont University Library will assist as a facilitator of the process. This LibGuide will provide you with the information you need to submit your manuscript to for publication.
Your dissertation is very special to you since it's a significant milestone in your professional and personal life. But it's more than that: it's also your contribution to the knowledge of humanity and to the research of your discipline and its scholarly conversation.
The University and the College of Education believe in disseminating our students' and our institution's intellectual work as broadly as possible. We urge and encourage you to publish it in ProQuest's Open Access Dissertation Publishing service so as many people as possible may benefit from your original research.
The publication process begins by submitting all of the necessary information and a copy of your dissertation to ProQuest ETD Administrator. But please read this entire guide before starting the submission process.
ProQuest's usage of the phrase open access means items are freely available for viewing or downloading by anyone with access to the internet. That is, dissertations and theses published as part of the Open Access Dissertation Publishing service from ProQuest will be freely available at no charge for viewing or downloading by anyone with access to the internet, indefinitely.
Open Access publishing means that a bibliographic citation, with a full-text link, will be posted in the online service PQDT, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. Since ProQuest also posts all its dissertation citations in Google Scholar, your dissertation's bibliographic information will appear there also, with a link back to the full-text at ProQuest .
Because the College of Education and the University believe in disseminating your research in the broadest possible way, we urge you to participate in the ProQuest Open Access Dissertations project. The University will pay all fees associated with this service, which includes perpetual archiving.
This page provides move information about ProQuest's Open Access Publishing PLUS service and contains a link to an FAQ you may find helpful.
The Library serves as a facilitator and gatekeeper in the dissertation submission process, and we are glad to provide assistance as you navigate the publishing website. When you submit your document to the ProQuest publishing website, the Library checks with the Chair of the doctoral program to verify that final approval has been given for publication. The Library then "presses the button" for final submission of your dissertation to ProQuest.
When we receive verification of final approval, the Library presumes that your manuscript has reached its final form with regard to content and formatting. The Library does not provide proofreading services, and the Library is not responsible for errors in the formatting or content of your document.
If corrections are needed after your dissertation has been submitted for publication or published, that is a situation that the author must resolve with ProQuest. In that case, the Library can facilitate contact with the dissertation publishing division.
Your main contact at the Library is the Dean of Libraries, Bob Glass. You can reach him by e-mail at email@example.com.