The MAYFLOWER online library catalog is a gateway to discover information and research materials. It contains records to locate and access physical and virtual items—books and e-books, e-texts, videos and sound recordings, musical scores, and other materials—available to you through Piedmont College Library.
This special version of the MAYFLOWER online catalog searches for all the ebooks the Library licenses for its users. When you find something of interest, you can link directly to the title. Collections included (over 535,000 titles):Cambridge Histories Online, Credo Reference Ebooks, ProQuest Ebook Central, EBSCO Ebooks, EBSCO Academic Ebooks, Oxford Reference Ebooks, SAGE Knowledge Ebooks, Wiley Ebooks.
Credo Reference presents content from hundreds of reference books from some of the world's best reference publishers covering every major subject. There are over 3 million entries, 65,000+ images (art, diagrams, interactive maps and photos).
The content is enriched by a network of cross-reference links that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide accurate, contextual results. Credo includes millions of cross-references and contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy to zoology, science to Shakespeare, and law to literature.
The volume comprises 232 thematically organised articles based on the highly successful Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics and the International Encyclopedia of Education (2nd edition) revised and, where necessary, updated and supplemented throughout. Dealing with all topics at the intersection between education and language, the work will prove an invaluable reference for all researchers in the field. Never has there been more intense debate over different attitudes and approaches to teaching and language. This volume will provide a state of the art description of all the topics of interest to language educators and all those concerned with making and implementing policy in language education. Fundamental topics include: the social context, society, national, school and curricular policy, literacy and oracy, language acquisition, bi- and plurilingualism, testing, TEFL, TESOL, SLA.
This indispensable reference is a comprehensive guide to significant issues, policies, historical events, laws, theories, and persons related to the education of African-Americans in the United States. Through several hundred alphabetically arranged entries, the volume chronicles the history of African-American education from the systematic, long-term denial of schooling to blacks before the Civil War, to the establishment of the Freedmen's Bureau and the era of Reconstruction, to Brown v. Board of Education and the civil rights reforms of the last few decades. Entries are written by expert contributors and contain valuable bibliographies, while a selected bibliography of general sources concludes the volume. The African-American population is unique in that its educational history includes as law and public policy the systematic, long-term denial of the acquisition of knowledge. In the 18th century, African-Americans were initially legally forbidden to be taught academic subjects in the South, where most African-Americans lived. This period, which ended around 1865 with the conclusion of the Civil War and the establishment of the Freedmen's Bureau, was followed by the introduction of laws, policies, and practices providing for rudimentary education for 69 years under the dual-school, separate-but-equal policies established by Plessy v. Ferguson (1896). These policies did not end until the Brown v. Board of Education decisions of 1954 and 1955 were reinforced by the passage of civil rights and equal opportunity legislation in the mid-1960s. The education of African-Americans has been a continuing moral, political, legal, economic, and psychological issue throughout this country's history. It continues to consume time and attention, and it remains an unresolved dilemma for the nation. Through several hundred alphabetically arranged entries, this indispensable reference offers a comprehensive overview of significant issues, policies, historical events, laws, persons, and theories related to African-American education from the early years of this country to the present day. The entries are written by expert contributors, and each entry includes a bibliography of works for further reading. A selected, general bibliography concludes the volume.
The Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education provides a comprehensive introduction to the social and cultural foundations of education. The first two volumes consist of A-Z entries, and a third volume is made up of documentary, photographic, and visual resources. The two A-Z volumes include essays representing the major disciplines (philosophy, history, sociology, etc.).
The Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education in the United States is a two-volume work intended to be a comprehensive, first-stop reference work. It is tightly focused on the unique history, polemics, and the various forms bilingual education has taken in U.S. schools. It was written for use by non-specialists who wish to explore, in a comprehensive non-technical way, the intricacies of this subject from various angles: history, policy, classroom practice, designs and research bases. Readers may access information about the links between bilingual education and related subjects: linguistics, education equity issues, socio-cultural diversity, and the nature of demographic change in the United States.
Selected as an Outstanding Academic Title by Choice Magazine, January 2010 The Encyclopedia of Education Law is a compendium of information drawn from the various dimensions of education law. The entries cover a number of essential topics, including the following: o key cases in education law, including both case summaries and topical overviews " Constitutional issues " Key concepts, theories, and legal principles " Key statutes " Treaties (e.g., the Universal Declaration on Human Rights) " Curricular issues " Educational equity " Governance " Rights of students and teachers " Technology " Biographies " Organizations. In addition to these broad categories, anchor essays by leading experts in education law provide more detailed examination of selected topics. The Encyclopedia also includes selections from key legal documents such as the Constitution and federal statutes that serve as the primary sources for research on education law. At the same time, since education law is a component in a much larger legal system, the Encyclopedia includes entries on the historical development of the law that impact on its subject matter. Such a broadened perspective places education law in its proper context in the United States legal system.
SAGE Reference is proud to announce this major new collection in the fields of educational leadership and administration. The Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration presents the most recent theories, research, terms, concepts, ideas and histories on educational leadership and school administration as it is taught on PGCE courses and practiced in schools and colleges today. With over 600 entries, written by more than 200 professors, graduate students, practitioners and association officials, the two-volumes of this Encyclopedia represent the most comprehensive knowledge base of educational leadership and school administration that has, as yet, been compiled. Key features: - represents a `knowledge dynamic′ of the field by presenting ideas and perspectives that are in the minds, hearts, and aspirations of those practicing in the profession; - includes a wide range of topics covering teaching and learning, curriculum, psychology and motivation, budgeting and finance, law, statistics, research, personnel management, planning, supervision, and much more; - contains over 75 biographical sketches of people whose ideas, aspirations, and lives have contributed much to the profession; - animates reader′s thinking and defines possibilities by presenting terms, ideas, concepts, research, and theories that are circulating in the field. The Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration is a must-have reference for all academic libraries.