Ebooks for Education Research

The field of educational psychology draws from a variety of diverse disciplines including: human development across the life span, measurement and statistics, learning and motivation and teaching. Within these different disciplines, many other fields are featured including psychology, anthropology, education, sociology, public health, school psychology, counselling, history and philosophy. When taught at the college or university level, educational psychology is an ambitious course that undertakes the presentation of many different topics all tied together by the theme of how the individual can best function in an "educational" setting, loosely defined as anything from pre-school through to adult education. There are few comprehensive overviews of the field of educational psychology and the purpose of this two volume Encyclopedia is to share this information in a way that is informative without being overly technical or intimidating. With more than 275 contributions, the Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology opens up the broad discipline of educational psychology to a wide and general audience. Written by experts in each area, the entries in this far-reaching resource provide an overview and an explanation of the major topics in the field of human development. The Encyclopedia includes technical topics related to educational psychology, but also focuses on those topics that evoke the interest of the everyday reader. Key Features " Addresses topics that are of particular interest to the general public such as vouchers, Head Start, divorce, elarning communities and charter schools " Covers subjects that are rich, diverse and deserving of closer inspection by an educated reader who may be uninformed about educational psychology " Draws from a variety of disciplines including psychology, anthropology, education, sociology, public health, school psychology, counselling, history and philosophy " Presents many different topics all tied together by the theme of how the individual can best function in an educational setting, from pre-school through to adult education. Key Themes " Classroom Achievement " Classroom Management " Cognitive Development " Ethnicity, Race and Culture " Families " Gender and Gender Development " Health and Well-Being " Human Development " Intelligence and Intellectual Development " Language Development " Learning and Memory " Organizations " Peers and Peer Influences " Public Policy " Research Methods and Statistics " Social Development " Teaching " Testing, Measurement and Evaluation " Theory

Not long ago, social psychology was a small field consisting of creative, energetic researchers bent on trying to study a few vexing problems in normal adult human behaviour with rigorous scientific methods. In a few short decades, the field has blossomed into a major intellectual force, with thousands of researchers worldwide exploring a stunningly diverse set of fascinating phenomena with an impressive arsenal of research methods and ever-more carefully honed theories. The Encyclopedia of Social Psychology is the first resource to present state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts from this fascinating field. These two volumes include more than 600 entries chosen by a diverse team of experts to comprise an exhaustive list of the most important concepts. The Encyclopedia is written for students who may be encountering concepts such as social loafing, deindividuation, base rate fallacy, ego depletion and self-handicapping for the first time and want a simple, clear, jargon-free explanation of what they mean. Key Themes " Action Control " Antisocial Behaviors " Attitude " Culture " Emotions " Evolution " Groups " Health " History " Influence " Interpersonal Relationships " Judgment and Decision Making " Methods " Personality " Prejudice " Problem Behaviors " Prosocial Behaviors " Self " Social Cognition " Subdisciplines

The Encyclopedia of School Psychology is the first comprehensive guide to this field featuring the latest research on school learning, motivation, and educational assessment. Approximately 250 entries by 175 contributing authors from psychology, education and counseling, child development, and special education address student success, behavior disorders, intelligence testing, learning disabilities, strategies to improve academic skills, and more. Key features: - Entries avoid jargon and technical detail in order to be accessible to a broad audience including university professors of school psychology, college students, elementary and high school teachers and administrators, school psychologists and parents; - Some entries i nclude embedded timelines to highlight the history and development of the field, which will be further highlighted by biographies of key pioneering researchers; - Entries on controversial topics (e.g., I/Q and intelligence testing) include "Point/Counterpoint" boxes highlighting differing sides to issues that aren′t necessarily clear cut; - Appendices guide readers to additional resources and will also include comparative statistical tables presenting information about student achievement, learning disorders, intelligence scales, and commonly administered standardized tests.

SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology. During the past 30 years, the study of racial and ethnic minority issues in psychology has evolved to what can be considered a significant and rapidly growing subfield within psychology. This volume represent a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic and minority issues and covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. Coverage includes contributions from all the major areas including: social; developmental; methodological; clinical; industrial/organizational; health; educational; and school and family psychology. Key features include: - supportive discussion on culture, not race, as the best way to understand differences among individuals; - a focuses on culture to provide a reference to the terms, concepts and issues used in this field; - a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic and minority issues and covers all of the major ethnic groups and subgroups; - a discussion on the sociological issues as well as conceptual issues relevant to the field of multicultural psychology. Key themes include: - Conceptual Issues; - Cultural Concerns; - Ethnic Groups; - Indigenous Concerns; - Measurement; - Professional Organizations; - Psychopathology; - Sociological Issue; - Treatment. Topics covered include: - academic achievement; - acculturation; - affirmative action; - community interventions; - education; - health; - immigrants; - prejudice; - racial identity development; - social ecology; - stereotyping; - teaching multiculturalism; - tokenism; - values; - violence; - worldviews.