Medical Reference
- Credo Reference: Health & MedicineCredo Reference for Health & Medicine contains the full-text of several important and substantial general and specific reference books, such as Black's Medical Dictionary and the Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health.
- Merck Manual: Professional Edition This link opens in a new windowThe online version of the Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy; The Merck Manual of Medical Information, Home Edition; the Merck Manual of Geriatrics; and the Merck Manual of Health & Aging. These standard medical reference works provide students and practitioners detailed information on virtually all disorders, complete with discussion of symptoms and current therapy.
Other Sources
- NCBI BookshelfThe National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) "provides free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare."
Recommended
I Wasn't Strong Like This When I Started Out by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781937163129Publication Date: 2013-04-09This collection of true narratives reflects the dynamism and diversity of nurses, who provide the first vital line of patient care. Here, nurses remember their first "sticks," first births, and first deaths, and reflect on what gets them though long, demanding shifts, and keeps them in the profession. The stories reveal many voices from nurses at different stages of their careers: One nurse-in-training longs to be trusted with more "important" procedures, while another questions her ability to care for nursing home residents. An efficient young emergency room nurse finds his life and career irrevocably changed by a car accident. A nurse practitioner wonders whether she has violated professional boundaries in her care for a homeless man with AIDS, and a home care case manager isthe sole attendee at a funeral for one of her patients. What connects these stories is the passion and strength of the writers, who struggle against burnout and bureaucracy to serve their patients with skill, empathy, and strength.
Find Books & Ebooks
- MAYFLOWER Catalog This link opens in a new windowThe MAYFLOWER online library catalog is a gateway to discover information and research materials. It contains records to locate and access physical and virtual items—books and e-books, e-texts, videos and sound recordings, musical scores, and other materials—available to you through Piedmont University Library.
- Ebook Academic Collection Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThis special search includes the Ebook Collection, the Ebook Academic Collection, and the Ebook Community College Collection from EBSCO. Over 530,000 titles cover the full gamut of general and academic subjects and support a very broad and deep range of academic disciplines. The collections include titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, MIT Press, SUNY Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, McGill-Queen's University Press, Harvard University Press, and other scholarly publishers such as Elsevier, Ashgate, Taylor & Francis, SAGE and John Wiley.
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 270,000 ebooks that covers the gamut of academic disciplines: the arts, business, education, health & medicine, history, law, literature & language, religion & philosophy, mathematics, science & technology, and the social sciences. Includes the Academic Complete, College Complete, and Public Library Complete collections.
