Arrendale Library: American Antiquarian Society Periodicals: Subject Subsets

AAS Collection Subsets: Topics Beginning with A

These subsets of the AAS periodicals provide researchers with subject-based groupings that allow for more tightly focused searching. Among the diversity of topics are: Art, Architecture, Music; Books and Publishing; Business, Agriculture, Industry; Ethnic Groups; Family and Society; History and Description; Language and Literature; Law, Politics and Government; Religion and Philosophy; Revolutionary War; Science and Medicine; Women’s History.

Advertising Periodicals, 1815-1888
Advertising Periodicals, 1815-1888 features periodicals that were primarily used as advertising vehicles for businesses and industries and covers a wide range of subjects.
Agricultural Periodicals from the Northeastern US, 1789-1879
Agricultural Periodicals from the Northeastern U.S., 1789-1879 contains over 230 publications about farming-related activities published along the east coast and New England during the nineteenth century.
Agricultural Periodicals from the Southern, Midwestern, and Western US, 1800-1878
Agricultural Periodicals from the Southern, Midwestern, and Western U.S., 1800-1878 contains over 180 titles that focus on agriculture during the nineteenth century.
Alternative Faith and Philosophy Periodicals, 1789-1878
Alternative Faith and Philosophy Periodicals, 1789-1878 contains 166 titles that represent the origins and rapid growth of innovative religious belief and expression in nineteenth-century America.
Alternative Medicine and Health Periodicals, 1810-1877
Alternative Medicine and Health Periodicals, 1810-1877 presents over 180 periodicals dedicated to extensive concepts including healthy living and alternative medicine.
American Civil War Periodicals, 1855-1868
American Civil War Periodicals, 1855-1868 consists of over 130 periodicals that span the conflict from the beginnings of the conflict to Reconstruction.
American Literary Periodicals, 1782-1834
American Literary Periodicals, 1782-1834 is one of three collections focused on literature of the Early U.S. Republic.
American Literary Periodicals, 1835-1858
American Literary Periodicals, 1835-1858 is one of three collections focused on a thriving literary culture in an expanding Jacksonian United States.
American Literary Periodicals, 1859-1891
American Literary Periodicals, 1859-1891 represents the higher forms of literature and literary criticism from 184 titles, including notables like Mark Twain and Walt Whitman, focusing on the late nineteenth century.
American Medicine, Surgery, Dentistry Periodicals, 1786-1877
American Medicine, Surgery, Dentistry Periodicals, 1786-1877 presents over 220 dedicated publications focused on professional medical thought, including dental practice, during the nineteenth century.
American Political and Social Movements Periodicals, 1815-1884
American Political and Social Movements, 1815-1884 chronicles the prevailing social, religious, political, and benevolent movements of the day represented in 221 publications.
American Political Periodicals, 1715-1891
American Political Periodicals, 1715-1891 contains over 175 publications covering key political issues and movements of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

AAS Collection Subsets: Topics Beginning with B-C

Baptists, Quakers, and Independent Church Periodicals, 1797-1881
Baptists, Quakers, and Independent Church Periodicals, 1797-1881 documents, through its 200 titles, the growth of the Baptist church, the Religious Society of Friends and other independent churches during the nineteenth century.
Business and General Education Periodicals, 1800-1885
Business and General Education Periodicals, 1800-1885 reflects on a broad range of pedagogical methods and the rich history of education (public & private) in the United States through the 255 titles in the collection.
Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1774-1858
Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1774-1858 contains over 280 periodicals covering subjects such as business and industry, dating from the Revolutionary to Antebellum eras.
Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1859-1870
Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1859-1870 represents periodicals promoting the interests of industry with over 220 publications devoted to specific trades and professions.
Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1871-1901
Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1871-1901 represents subjects of business and industry, broadly defined, during the second industrial revolution in 318 titles.
Canadian Periodicals, 1790-1877
Canadian Periodicals, 1790-1877 presents 87 periodicals published in Canada and focusing on Canadian history, literature and politics.
Catholic, Lutheran, Methodist, and Episcopal Periodicals, 1797-1904
Catholic, Lutheran, Methodist, and Episcopal Periodicals 1797-1904 includes church publications, diocesan newspapers, fair periodicals, reports from denominational conferences, and many other titles.
College and Student Periodicals, 1806-1877
College and Student Periodicals, 1806-1877 captures a broad view of the events, humor, and lifestyle of campuses around the country through its collection of 290 publications.
Commercial Periodicals from the Southern US, 1811-1877
Commercial Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1811-1877 is comprised of 190 periodicals published in the South during the nineteenth century, chronicling in particular the focus on commercial and business concerns.
Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed Church Periodicals, 1803-1902
Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed Church Periodicals, 1803-1902 contains 168 periodicals providing insight into the distinct Protestant ecclesial communities that thrived in America.
Cultural Periodicals from the Southern US, 1797-1877
Cultural Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1797-1877 is comprised of 270 periodicals published in the South during the nineteenth century that focus on cultural concerns, broadly defined.
Current Events and History Periodicals, 1691-1912
Current Events and History Periodicals, 1691-1912 consists of 160 periodicals about the current events of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, covering economics and government affairs.

AAS Collection Subsets: Topics Beginning with D-M

Drama, Humor, and Fine Arts Periodicals, 1764-1877
Drama, Humor, and Fine Arts Periodicals, 1764-1877 includes 240 titles encompassing architecture, the fine arts, theater, and comic serials.
Emerging American Religions, 1821-1895
Emerging American Religions, 1821-1895 consists of 198 periodicals chronicling new religious movements founded in America, especially those that flourished during the nineteenth century
Fireside Companions and Family Literature Periodicals, 1805-1877
Fireside Companions and Family Literature Periodicals, 1805-1877 presents a rich tradition of family and children’s literature through the 155 titles found here focusing on courtship, marriage and child-rearing.
Foreign Language Periodicals in America, 1684-1904
Foreign Language Periodicals in America, 1684-1904 contains over 240 periodicals published in foreign languages primarily from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries reflecting a broad range of interests.
General Interest Christian Periodicals, 1743-1889
General Interest Christian Periodicals, 1743-1889 features nearly 300 titles that address broad religious themes and at the time appealed to a general readership.
Hobbies, Socialization, and Sport Periodicals, 1775-1889
Hobbies, Socialization, and Sport Periodicals, 1775-1889 presents over 300 periodicals capturing the many things nineteenth century Americans did in their spare time including fairs / bazaars, public lectures, sporting events, hobbies, etc.
Literary Periodicals of New England, 1789-1878
Literary Periodicals of New England, 1789-1878 represents 236 titles published in the cities and towns of the northeast during the nineteenth century with emphasis on small publications from more remote places.
Masons, Odd-Fellows and Other Societal Periodicals, 1794-1877
Masons, Odd-Fellows and Other Societal Periodicals, 1794-1877 focuses its 142 publications on friendly, fraternal, nineteenth century societies, organized based on ethnic, social, or political affiliation.
Military and Law Enforcement Periodicals, 1691-1877
Military and Law Enforcement Periodicals, 1691-1877 consists of over 120 publications pertaining to the military and to the experiences of soldiers and sailors.
Missionary and Charity Periodicals, 1793-1902
Missionary and Charity Periodicals, 1793-1902 has 200 publications that focus on missionary and charity work undertaken by various faith groups, including those for both foreign and domestic missions.
Musical Periodicals, 1781-1879
Musical Periodicals, 1781-1879 gathers 170 publications dedicated to various aspects of music, from the sacred to the secular, from the political to the comic, often including related content on the arts, literature, and science.

AAS Collection Subsets: Topics Beginning with P-R

Periodicals from Around the World, 1691-1880
Periodicals from Around the World, 1691-1880 presents 376 titles that were either published outside of the United States, or published within the United States but largely concerned with foreign countries
Periodicals of the American West, 1779-1881
Periodicals of the American West, 1779-1881 provides scholars with a unique snapshot into the ideas that fueled America’s westward expansion.
Periodicals of the British Empire and Its Colonies, 1702-1879
Periodicals of the British Empire and Its Colonies, 1702-1879 presents over 250 titles with a unique insight into the colonies’ complex relationship with Europe specifically focusing on colonial North America.
Popular Educational Periodicals, 1758-1889
Popular Educational Periodicals, 1758-1889 contains 204 publications chronicling the wave of lyceums, athenaeums, and Universities that sprung up across the United States in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Religious Periodicals for Women, Children, and Families, 1804-1878
Religious Periodicals for Women, Children, and Families, 1804-1878 presents over 180 titles that focus on important topics faced by families in the nineteenth Century and broader social themes like anti-slavery, universalism, and temperance.
Religious Periodicals from the Southern US, 1801-1904
Religious Periodicals from the Southern U.S., 1801-1904 contains 196 publications from the South during the nineteenth century focused on spiritual concerns.

AAS Collection Subsets: Topics Beginning with S-W

Scientific Periodicals, 1771-1901
Scientific Periodicals, 1771-1901 contains over 210 publications related chiefly to the hard science disciplines, such as mathematics, astronomy, chemistry, physics, geology (including mining), and more.
Slavery and Abolition, 1789-1887
Slavery and Abolition, 1789-1887 chronicles the African American experience during the nineteenth century with broad subjects and includes a fair amount of titles covering religion and literature.
Story Papers, Dimes and Dollar Periodicals, 1828-1877
Story Papers, Dimes and Dollar Periodicals, 1828-1877 represents over 140 selected publications reflecting the progression of print during the nineteenth century that enabled cheap forms of literature to flourish.
Sunday School Periodicals, 1818-1885
Sunday School Periodicals, 1818-1885 features a broad cross-section of over 180 Sunday school periodicals that were read in churches and at home.
Temperance Periodicals in America, 1826-1877
Temperance Periodicals in America, 1826-1877 contains 275 broad range periodicals that highlight the temperance movement in nineteenth century America as it sought to curb the consumption and abuse of alcohol.
Theology and Biblical Studies Periodicals, 1760-1877
Theology and Biblical Studies Periodicals, 1760-1877 focuses on over 170 biblical and theological study publications that represent a broad cross-section of religious groups and major theological traditions.
Women's Periodicals of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century, 1733-1844
Women’s Periodicals of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century, 1733-1844 presents 210 women’s-related periodicals spanning the Colonial through the Jacksonian Eras.
Women's Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1845-1865
Women’s Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1845-1865 represents 250 periodicals focusing on female authors and publishers who cemented the foundations of women’s active role in American social and religious movements.
Women's Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1866-1891
Women’s Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1866-1891 presents over 230 periodicals that range widely in subject matter from religious and cultural periodicals from the South to domestic and parenting magazines from the North.

American Antiquarian Society Periodicals

help box

Contact Us!

AAS Collection Subsets: Topics Beginning with A

AAS Collection Subsets: Topics Beginning with B-C

AAS Collection Subsets: Topics Beginning with D-M

AAS Collection Subsets: Topics Beginning with P-R

AAS Collection Subsets: Topics Beginning with S-W

RESEARCH

SERVICES

ABOUT

HELP