Skip to Main Content

Faculty Resources for Student Engagement

This library guide's primary purpose is to provide a place where faculty can find the many different kinds of materials available for enrichment of student learning experiences.

The APA Handbooks

The APA Handbooks in Psychology

The APA Handbooks in Psychology are a significant component of the content in PsycBooks. Each APA handbook addresses the key reference interests and essential needs of researchers, clinicians, and practitioners in psychology and allied behavioral fields, as well as graduate students in the relevant areas. 

Each handbook focuses on what is currently known in areas of study or practice, including basic historical reviews and the most pertinent current sources of information in both core and emerging literature. Individual chapters pinpoint practical issues, probe unresolved and controversial topics, and present future theoretical, research, and practice trends. Cross-referencing among chapters within and across volumes leads the user to a clearer understanding of the complexities of each field.

APA’s extensive peer-review process ensures academic and scholarly excellence.

When these volumes open, you can browse their articles by title or look for the Search within this publication link above the title to search using keywords.

APA Handbooks by Title

APA addiction syndrome handbook
Vol. 1: Foundations, influences, and expressions of addiction
Vol. 2: Recovery, prevention, and other issues
 
APA educational psychology handbook
Vol. 1: Theories, constructs, and critical issues
Vol. 2: Individual differences and cultural and contextual factors
Vol. 3: Application to learning and teaching
 
APA handbook of behavior analysis
Vol. 1: Methods and principles 
Vol. 2: Translating principles into practice 
 
APA handbook of career intervention
Vol. 1: Foundations
Vol. 2: Applications
 
APA handbook of clinical geropsychology
Vol. 1: History and status of the field and perspectives on aging
Vol. 2: Assessment, treatment, and issues of later life
 
APA handbook of clinical psychology
Vol. 1: Roots and branches
Vol. 2: Theory and research
Vol. 3: Applications and methods
Vol. 4: Psychopathology and health
Vol. 5: Education and profession
 
APA handbook of community psychology
Vol. 1: Theoretical foundations, core concepts, and emerging challenges
Vol. 2: Methods for community research and action for diverse groups and issues
 
APA handbook of comparative psychology
Vol. 1: Basic concepts, methods, neural substrate, and behavior
Vol. 2: Perception, learning, and cognition
 
APA handbook of consumer psychology
 
APA handbook of contemporary family psychology
Vol. 1: Foundations, methods, and contemporary issues across the lifespan
Vol. 2: Applications and broad impact of family psychology
Vol. 3: Family therapy and training
 
APA handbook of counseling psychology
Vol. 1: Theories, research, and methods 
Vol. 2: Practice, interventions, and applications 
 
APA handbook of dementia
 
APA handbook of ethics In psychology
Vol. 1: Moral foundations and common themes
Vol. 2: Practice, teaching, and research
 
APA handbook of forensic neuropsychology
 
APA handbook of forensic psychology
Vol. 1: Individual and situational influences in criminal and civil contexts
Vol. 2. Criminal investigation, adjudication, and sentencing outcomes
 
APA handbook of giftedness and talent
 
APA handbook of human systems integration
 
APA handbook of industrial and organizational psychology
Vol. 1: Building and developing the organization
Vol. 2: Selecting and developing members for the organization
Vol. 3: Maintaining, expanding, and contracting the organization
 
APA handbook of intellectual and developmental disabilities
Vol. 1: Foundations
Vol. 2: Clinical and educational implications: Prevention, intervention, and treatment
 
APA handbook of men and masculinities
 
APA handbook of multicultural psychology
Vol. 1: Theory and research
Vol. 2: Applications and training
 
APA handbook of nonverbal communication
 
APA handbook of personality and social psychology
Vol. 1: Attitudes and social cognition 
Vol. 2: Group processes 
Vol. 3: Interpersonal relations 
Vol. 4: Personality processes and individual differences 
 
APA handbook of psychology and juvenile justice
 
APA handbook of psychology, religion, and spirituality
Vol. 1: Context, theory, and research
Vol. 2: An applied psychology of religion and spirituality
 
APA handbook of psychopathology
Vol. 1: Psychopathology
Vol. 2: Child and adolescent psychopathology
 
APA handbook of psychopharmacology
 
APA handbook of research methods in psychology
Vol. 1: Foundations, planning, measures, and psychometrics 
Vol. 2: Research designs: quantitative, qualitative, neuropsychological, and biological
Vol. 3: Data analysis and research publication 
 
APA handbook of sexuality and psychology
Vol. 1: Person-based approaches
Vol. 2: Contextual approaches
 
APA handbook of sport and exercise psychology
Vol. 1: Sport psychology
Vol. 2: Exercise psychology
 
APA handbook of testing and assessment in psychology
Vol. 1: Test theory and testing and assessment in industrial and organizational psychology
Vol. 2: Testing and assessment in clinical and counseling psychology
Vol. 3: Testing and assessment in school psychology and education
 
APA handbook of the psychology of women
Vol. 1: History, theory, and battlegrounds 
Vol. 2: Perspectives on women's private and public lives 
 
APA handbook of trauma psychology
Vol. 1: Foundations in knowledge
Vol. 2: Trauma practice